Under the sea

Fiji's Poseidon Undersea Resort

Fiji's Poseidon Undersea Resort

Everything’s better, down where it’s wetter take it from me!

A new trend is emerging… underwater hotels.  I love the idea of this, don’t you?  Talk about a change of view, and my little mermaid dreams come true!  Like living in a real-life aquarium.

In Fiji, there is Poseidon Underwater Resort, a 5-star hotel with 24 suites and one extra special apartment-style room. These rooms fulfil all expectations of a luxury resort, only it is 40 ft below sea-level.  70% of each room is encased in 4inch thick acrylic, so you get an unbelievable view of coral reef and all the pretty little fishies!  In Dubai a similar concept hotel is being developed as well.

Hilton Maldives Hotel Itha Restaurant turned hotel room

2 thoughts on “Under the sea

  1. That’s absolutely amazing. I just don’t know how I would feel about sleeping in that environment until I actually tried it. I’m not normally claustrophobic, but I could see it being an issue. Also, I don’t see any curtains, I know it would get darker when the sun goes down, but people on vacation often want to sleep in. Any idea if the glass can be darkened or made opaque?

    • There is a little blurb about why you won’t be claustrophobic on the website (check my link), but I mean it’s a personal thing right? I don’t get claustrophobic in aquariums so I don’t imagine I would be there. Maybe in a dungeon hotel, I would be though. The light issue I’m not sure about. I know at night there is an external light you can put on for at night (also a button that feeds the fish outside your room!) but I’m not sure about the daylight… I’m assuming there would be curtains. All the luxuries of a normal hotel, right?

Leave a Reply

